Welcome to my blog on living with hearing loss


Hi everyone,

I am a man who wears many hats.  I have a lovely, intelligent wife and a handsome, amazing son.  I have the sweetest dog in the world named Amie.  I love to fish, kayak. hike, play tennis, golf and travel.  I have a fantastic career with Phonak Canada as the FM and SoundField Product Manager.  I have a degree in Audiology from the University of Western Ontario.

I also learned how to play the bass guitar and have played in several bands live.  I have even mustered up the courage to sing a few songs.

And I also lost all my hearing.  I currently use a Cochlear Implant in my right ear and a hearing aid in my left ear.

But I am all of these things, not just a person who can’t hear.  I am always searching for ways to live my life to the fullest, despite my hearing loss.  That’s what this blog is all about. I plan to share with you both personal and professional stories about overcoming challenges associated with hearing impairment.

Stay tuned for updates on my journey!

10 thoughts on “Welcome to my blog on living with hearing loss

  1. Found your blog via twitter. I’m a home audio engineer, music enthusiast, and a voice actor. Sound and hearing is my life. I suffer from meniere’s disease and I’m slowly losing all of my hearing. I’m only 26 years old and have already lost most of my hearing in my left ear and just this week the disease moved to my right (good) ear. Its like having a high pass filter up to 400hz. I cant hear most of my voice. Anyways, your post is very inspiring and I plan to avidly follow your new blog. I’m planning on losing most of my hearing. Your short post was already very inspiring to me. Thank you.

    • Hi Jordan,
      I hope you do not lose all your hearing, as no device can replace the quality of natural hearing. But in the event you do, do not despair. There are fantastic hearing aids, cochlear implants, and FM systems that really help. In addition, there are ways to use these devices that most audiologists may not have even considered. This is essentially the purpose of this blog. I am trying to combine my skills as an audiologist and my experience of living with deafness and share those ideas with others.

  2. Congrats on your new blog – look forward to reading more. You have so much to share! It was great to see you, again, yesterday. Thanks for all the great info!!! I like the hat 🙂

  3. Hi Peter,
    I wish you all the best for your life and this blog and I am looking forward to read your posts!

    I have a severe hearing loss and I am wearing two hearing aids (Naida). I still like music despite it is not the same experience anymore than earlier in my life because my hearing is getting worse slowly.

    Dominik

  4. I found your blog from Phonak Facebook. I am an audiologist with a hearing impaired son and yes, I was an audiologist for almost 10 years when I had my identical twins (one hearing impaired, one normal hearing) I am looking forward to learning some new creative ways to help him. This has been an interesting journey on the other side of the table.

  5. Hi there Peter (& others)
    I, too, found your blog on Facebook and want to say a big THANKS! Your comments so far are such a breath of fresh air – finally, someone who KNOWS what this is REALLY like. I am a long-term wearer of bi-lateral hearing aids (Naida V UP) who has just been accepted into a Cochlear Implant programme; only option left to me in a few years time. In the meantime, the Smartlink+ FM system has re-opened a listening window to the world once again and I am very grateful.

  6. Hi
    I came across your blog via Phonak Naida. I was born deaf and recently went bilateral with cochlear implants. They are truly amazing. Coping strategies and a sense of humour are so important. I look forward to reading your posts!

  7. HI PETER
    GOOD FOR YOU FOR STANDING UP AND DEMANDING MORE THAN AN APOLOGY RE THE ABUSE YOU AND YOUR SERVICE ANIMAL SUFFERED AT THE HANDS OF RESTAURANTEUR AND CHAIN THE SPRING ROLLS RESTAURANT.
    MY HUSBAND JIM AND HIS SERVICE DOG WAS ALSO DISCRIMINATED AGAINST AND REFUSED ENTRY AT THIS FAMILY RESTAURANT IN MARKHAM, ONTARIO IN THE GTA. THEY DO NOT HAVE 20 EMPLOYEES SO WE DO NOT HAVE THE SAME BACKING OF THE LAW…..
    CONTINUE YOUR FIGHT. IT IS A CRIME THAT EVERY INDIVIDUAL HAS TO FIGHT THE BATTLES WHEN IT IS LAW.

    SENDING YOU THE LINK CITY TV DID ON THE INCIDENT THAT HAPPENED IN NOVEMBER 2012 THE RESTAURANT IS THE BLUE NOSE RESTAURANT.

    http://www.citynews.ca/2012/11/29/disabled-man-service-dog-refused-service-at-markham-restaurant/

    SINCERELY

    COLETTE BROWN
    JIM BROWN
    416-452-7687

    • Hello Colette and Jim. Thank you for your support. In my case, you can see that it ended well. Spring Rolls apologised, made significant policy changes to comply with laws, and raised awareness and money for service dogs.

      However, I know this will happen again somewhere else so we must remain vigilant and ensure that people in the service industry comply with both the Ontario Human Rights Code and the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act.

Leave a Reply

